Hatrack River
Home   |   About Orson Scott Card   |   News & Reviews   |   OSC Library   |   Forums   |   Contact   |   Links
Research Area   |   Writing Lessons   |   Writers Workshops   |   OSC at SVU   |   Calendar   |   Store
E-mail this page
Hatrack River Writers Workshop Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Next, Please Introduce Yourself » Hi to the Group

Author Topic: Hi to the Group
Robert Briggs
Member # 9751

- posted      Profile for Robert Briggs   Email Robert Briggs         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi All,

My name is Robert Briggs. I am a 42 year old husband of one wife for the last 19 years. I have two young children, ages 8 and 11, and 3 dogs that drive my wife absolutely insane. I am, by trade, a Pastor of a small church in Houston Texas and have been in this field for 22 years. As my job entails a great amount of word usage I have fallen in love with well crafted sentences and think of words as a mode of painting. Things in my life have lately dramatically changed and started me thinking that I needed to get to that "book" I've always wanted to right before it's too late. I say this because I was recently diagnosed, back in October of 2011, with adinocarcinoma of the lungs, with metastases to the liver and surrounding lymph nodes. It was quite a shock as I am not a smoker, at least not for the last 23 years, I was very active in Karate, weight lifting and cardio vascular exercise. I lived as clean as I possibly could and just didn't believe the news when it first came. Anyway, after my initial bout of - woe is me - I got things together and started to realize Life was not over until I said it was over. And I am no where near ready to give up the spirit as the scriptures would say. So live I shall. And in so doing I will get busy with my dreams. Please don't expect a lot out of my writing to start. I have