Hatrack River
Home   |   About Orson Scott Card   |   News & Reviews   |   OSC Library   |   Forums   |   Contact   |   Links
Research Area   |   Writing Lessons   |   Writers Workshops   |   OSC at SVU   |   Calendar   |   Store
E-mail this page
Hatrack River Writers Workshop Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Next, Please Introduce Yourself » Newbie here to learn and improve

Author Topic: Newbie here to learn and improve
Charles P. Shingledecker
Member # 9849

- posted      Profile for Charles P. Shingledecker   Email Charles P. Shingledecker         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi everyone.

Obviously I'm a new member here and have just been approved today! :)I'm excited to be here and hope to learn a lot by participating as much as I can.

Just a little background information on me. I basically began writing about two years ago. I was still in recovery of some pretty major health problems and had grown frustrated with some internal issues within my particular religious denomination. A friend of mine encouraged me to write about some of those problems. Other than a few letters to the editor in local newspapers, I'd never written anything before. But she'd seen a couple of my letters and thought it was worth trying out. So I began to write (and research) a lot.

Long story short is that what I had been writing eventually turned into a book which was published last year by a small religious press on the east coast. I haven't made much money from the book (again, we're talking about a very small press) but it was nice to be published. I immediately began writing another book on a different religious topic but writing non-fiction made me catch the fiction bug, and I've caught it pretty bad. [Smile]