FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » aphasic

Author Topic: aphasic
mackillian
Member # 586

- posted      Profile for mackillian   Email mackillian         Edit/Delete Post 
No, I haven't been aphasered, like in Star Trek (slash called it that).

It's this: aphasic

It's really disturbing and frustrating to me. I mean...skills I take for granted, like writing, speaking, comprehending, are noticeably sub-par.

I'm usually a step ahead mentally--now I'm two steps behind. Easily confused. Forgetting words and ideas as I'm speaking them. Losing track in conversations without any interruptions from others, when I can normally keep tabs on quite a few thoughts and conversations at once. Normally I'm a competent writer, but typing, I screw up sentence order. Handwriting, I switch letters or read one (am taking notes from research articles) letter and write down another.

Quite disturbing and frustrating.

Anyone else have experience with this type of stuff?

Posts: 14745 | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
mackillian
Member # 586

- posted      Profile for mackillian   Email mackillian         Edit/Delete Post 
Holy freaking crap.

My psychiatrist wants to send me to Mass General for a neuropsych workup. [Eek!]

Posts: 14745 | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Noemon
Member # 1115

- posted      Profile for Noemon   Email Noemon         Edit/Delete Post 
Wow, mack, that sucks! Did something precipitate this? How long do the bouts of it last for you?

What's involved in a neuropsych workup?

Posts: 16059 | Registered: Aug 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Dagonee
Member # 5818

- posted      Profile for Dagonee           Edit/Delete Post