FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Need help finding a friend

Author Topic: Need help finding a friend
Soundstream
Member # 9869

- posted      Profile for Soundstream   Email Soundstream         Edit/Delete Post 
I have an Internet "Pen Pal" that I've been emailing for almost 10 years now, but he lives in CA and I live in OH, so we've never met.

I sent him some CDs two years ago, but lost his (home) address and can't find it. I want to send him a Christmas card, but can't very well surprise him with it if I have to email him first and ask for his address. I tried to look him up online but his postal address is unlisted.

He has an Earthlink account and uses his real name as part of his email. Is there any way I can get his address from them? I can send old email messages as proof, but they will probably still refuse. Is there any other way to find him?

Any and all ideas are welcome. (Except stalking: I can't afford the airfare. Just kidding!!! [Wink] )

Posts: 29 | Registered: Nov 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Shmuel
Member # 7586

- posted      Profile for Shmuel   Email Shmuel         Edit/Delete Post 
I'm thinking that asking for his address will probably be less creepy than the alternative, even if you do manage to find it easily. Surprise is overrated. [Smile]

However, if you're set on the surprise angle, do you have any mutual friends who might have his address?

Posts: 884 | Registered: Mar 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
breyerchic04
Member # 6423

- posted      Profile for breyerchic04   Email breyerchic04         Edit/Delete Post 
Just tell him you're updating your address book, don't mention the card.
Posts: 5362 | Registered: Apr 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Soundstream
Member # 9869