Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Discussing Published Hooks & Books » May: Strengths and Weaknesses

Author Topic: May: Strengths and Weaknesses
Lullaby Lady
Member # 1840

- posted      Profile for Lullaby Lady   Email Lullaby Lady         Edit/Delete Post 
What do you feel are Jo Rowling's strengths and weaknesses in her writing? As I'm a beginning writer, I'd love to understand more about what I should-- and shouldn't-- emulate.

As for my sophomoric opinion, I think that her story-telling in general is masterful, and her characters loveable, even if I love to hate them! (Something I value a great deal in a story, as a reader...) I'd say her weakness is not going into enough detail at times about the environments in which the characters find themselves.

I'd love to hear some opinions of the more experienced and talented writers here!

Posts: 212 | Registered: Dec 2003  | Report this post to a Moderator
Christine
Member # 1646

- posted      Profile for Christine   Email Christine         Edit/Delete Post 
I'm not sure what you mean by environments...are you saying she doesn't give enough sensory detail? I don't hav too much trouble visualizing the here and now of the story, myself, but then I'm one who likes only essential details, and to heck with anything else.