Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Discussing Published Hooks & Books » 12-year-old author...can she write as well as and adult?

Author Topic: 12-year-old author...can she write as well as and adult?
Darth Petra
Member # 7126

- posted      Profile for Darth Petra   Email Darth Petra         Edit/Delete Post 
Flipping through a magazine for young girls one day, I found an advertisement for a book, called "Swordbird", written by a 12-year-old girl. I was thrilled to see that a child had the dedication to finish and publish a book. Being a young writer myself, it sort of raised my hopes that prehaps, I too could write and publish something.
I looked at the reviews on Amazon, and several other review sites. They all said the same thing: "This book is wonderful! It gives a deep message of peace," Some went further: "This book would be an acomplishment for an adult author!" It was even compared to LotR and Watership Down.
The library got the book to me on time. I read it in about a half-hour. And I was sorely dissapointed. It read, well, like a 12-year old wrote it! The prose was immature, and it was a lot like Redwall. It really wasn't good at all, and if an adult had written it, I don't think it would have gotten published. Do you think that we should really pat her on the back and say: "good job", just because we don't want to dissapoint her? Should we expect less of an author because of her age?

Well, I know one thing: if she can publish a book that everyone loves, so can I, and so can anybody on here who is a half-way decent writer.

Posts: 77 | Registered: Nov 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
wrenbird
Member # 3245

- posted      Profile for wrenbird   Email wrenbird         Edit/Delete Post