Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Discussing Published Hooks & Books » The Dark Tower - Gunslinger - Stephen King

Author Topic: The Dark Tower - Gunslinger - Stephen King
LlessurNire
Member # 8781

- posted      Profile for LlessurNire   Email LlessurNire         Edit/Delete Post 
Ok, just finished reading the first book of Stephen King's Dark Tower series, The Gunslinger.

I have to admit that this is my first time reading Stephen King. I've always stayed away from his books because horror just doesn't appeal to me, too many have been made into movies, and he just seems to crank out one after another.

But a friend who swears that King is an excellent writer convinced me to give him a try. I chose this series because I heard it was King with a SF/fantasy twist.

And...I really got into it! I almost couldn't put it down until I was done. In my opinion, excellent dialogue and some of the best action I've read. He made it seem effortless, the story just flowed. I have a new found respect for King's writing ability for sure.

So, anybody else read this book? Or this series? I'm planning on looking for the next book in the series, I really want to see how he continues the story. Is it worthwhile?

And, if you're a King fan, did you like this book? I've heard a lot of King fans didn't really like this book as it was too different from his other books.

This story has a lot of loose ends that are mentioned but not elaborated on, and I'm still trying to digest and comprehend exactly the place and setting of it all. Anybody else have some insight?

Posts: 85 | Registered: Sep 2009  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
jezzahardin
Member # 8782

- posted      Profile for jezzahardin   Email jezzahardin         Edit/Delete Post 
I just finished book three in this series.