Hatrack River
Home   |   About Orson Scott Card   |   News & Reviews   |   OSC Library   |   Forums   |   Contact   |   Links
Research Area   |   Writing Lessons   |   Writers Workshops   |   OSC at SVU   |   Calendar   |   Store
E-mail this page
Hatrack River Writers Workshop Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Next, Please Introduce Yourself » Who was that Masked Man?

Author Topic: Who was that Masked Man?
RLKnight
Member # 9703

- posted      Profile for RLKnight   Email RLKnight         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
One of my favorite quotes is "People get lost in thought because it is unfamiliar territory." Though I can not, for the life of me, remember who said it, it has always resonated with me. Maybe because all my life I have never had to struggle with school or learning a new skill. I graduated top of my class from high school, graduated from the United States Navy Nuclear Propulsion school in the top 10, and was sought out by Roger Williams University Law School. Then I found writing... and I found that, although I could construct an essay and write a 300 page legal brief (yup, lawyers actually consider 300 pages brief), I found creative writing a challenge. Especially when the story was more than a short story, more than just a grade school what I did for summer tale. That is what brings me here.

I have friends who are willing to read what I write... but they seem unwilling to give solid and unbiased critiques. Maybe they think I can't take it, maybe they don't want to hurt my feelings... whatever the reason, I come here to get unbiased opinions from people better equipped to write than I. So, my request to you all... be brutally honest. The only way to learn to do something is by doing it... the only way to get better is to learn what you are doing wrong.