Hatrack River
Home   |   About Orson Scott Card   |   News & Reviews   |   OSC Library   |   Forums   |   Contact   |   Links
Research Area   |   Writing Lessons   |   Writers Workshops   |   OSC at SVU   |   Calendar   |   Store
E-mail this page
Hatrack River Writers Workshop Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Next, Please Introduce Yourself » My Introduction:

Author Topic: My Introduction:
Eliza C
Member # 9805

- posted      Profile for Eliza C           Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I've been writing speculative fiction for about 12 years now (and, wow, has that gone by fast) and have 2 completed novels - one currently in the quarterfinals of Amazon's Breakthrough Novel Contest, and the other, just completed, out with beta readers. I've been an active member of the Online Writing Workshop for SF, F and H for 3 or 4 years and a slush reader for ASIM for the past couple of years. A few of my short stories have been published in semi-pro and token paying magazines and I've finally had some recent near-misses at pro magazines. My goal ever since I started writing short stories has been SFWA membership, but it's proving to be elusive!

I recently saw Hatrack mentioned by another writer and thought it was about time I checked it out - it looks like a fantastic resource. I've had OSC's "How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy" on my bookshelf for years and I'm looking forward to exploring the articles and info on this site.

Normally I'd ease into this, read a bit, then review a bit, but I have a short story kind-of under the gun. Thought maybe I'd run the first 13 lines here. I understand the importance of give and take, and if I post, I will be back soon to review something for other folks.

[ April 21, 2012, 11:22 AM: Message edited by: Eliza C ]