Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Grist for the Mill » George and Gracie

Author Topic: George and Gracie
MattLeo
Member # 9331

- posted      Profile for MattLeo   Email MattLeo         Edit/Delete Post 
When I was teaching myself how to write a comic scene, I studied some old Burns and Allen radio show scripts. I learned a great deal about comic writing, but I also discovered that as my wife and I get older, *we're turning into George and Gracie*.

Recently we were going through the camping gear to help my son prepare for a winter camping trip, and I came across a pair of small black gloves.

Me: These look too small for Greg.
She: They're one size fits all.
Me: Oh, I see.
She: Yeah, I bought a whole bunch of them in assorted sizes.
Me: ?!?!

(You have to imagine me taking my cigar out of my mouth and turning to the audience with a raised eyebrow.)

Actually what she meant to say was that she bought several pairs *all the same color* to make it easier to match odd gloves.

Just today we had this exchange:

She (out of the blue): My mom and I went to this thing... or was it you?
Me: What are you talking about?
She: Whether it was you or mom who went with me.
Me: I still have no idea what you're talking about.
She: Must have been mom then.
Me: ?!?!

I still have no idea what she was talking about.

Posts: 1459 | Registered: Dec 2010  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
History
Member # 9213

- posted      Profile for History   Email History         Edit/Delete Post 
LOL!
Great stuff.
And yet, how many of our fellow viewers recall "George and Gracie"?

Posts: 1475 | Registered: Aug 2010  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Robert Nowall
Member # 2764

- posted      Profile for Robert Nowall   Email Robert Nowall         Edit/Delete Post