FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Hey kids, it's time for number theory. Yay!

Author Topic: Hey kids, it's time for number theory. Yay!
MrSquicky
Member # 1802

- posted      Profile for MrSquicky   Email MrSquicky         Edit/Delete Post 
The recent thread on pedagogy got me thinking. I've got a niece who's going to be going to school in a couple of years and I've promised to try to shield here from the stuff I hated about school.

So one of the things I hated most in early education was the stupid way they went about teaching math. Rote memorization was just plain dumb in my opinion. It may be different now. To be honest, I really don't know.

Anyway, I got really bored with the math stuff, so I started playing with the numbers, and I pretty much taught myself basic number theory. This made math intereseting and gave me the luxury of ignoring nearly all the math instruction I got up till at least 8th grade. So it's something that I'd like to pass on.

However, while I've got a pretty good semantic memory, my episodic one is for crap. So I'm having problems remembering what I learned about number theory and how I got there. So I figured I'd throw the topic out there to see what people thought would be important and how to get there and also as a way of exploring how I actually came up with this stuff.

One of the biggest things I remember is understanding the implications of base 10 math. Once I grasped this, the world of cyclic patterns, scaling, and 10s complement (the number added to a given number that would give you 10, so the 10s complement of 4 is 6, etc.) opened up.

So for example, if you're subtracting a number from another with a lower ones digit, say 7 from 24, all you need to do is take the tens complement of 7 - 4 = 3 -> tens complement = 7, so the answer is 17.