Hatrack River
Hatrack.com   The Internet  
Home   |   About Orson Scott Card   |   News & Reviews   |   OSC Library   |   Forums   |   Contact   |   Links
Research Area   |   Writing Lessons   |   Writers Workshops   |   OSC at SVU   |   Calendar   |   Store
Print this page E-mail this page RSS FeedsRSS Feeds
What's New?
Orson Scott Card to be awarded the Grand Prix de l'Imaginaire 2000 for Heartfire
November, 1999

Here is an excerpt of a letter from Pierre Michaut announcing the prize to OSC.
Dear Orson Scott Card,

It's a great pleasure to tell you that the jury of the "Grand Prix de l'Imaginaire" - which is the historical and most important science-fiction and fantasy literary prize in France - chose your novel "Flammes de vie" ("Heartfire") as the best foreign novel of the year and wish also, through their choice, reward all the five "Tales of Alvin Maker". This prize will be formally delivered to you during the Festival Utopia.

The "Grand Prix de l'Imaginaire" was founded in 1974 as "Grand Prix de la Science-Fiction Fran aise" and when merging with the "Prix Apollo" got its new name in 1992. Listed below are winners for the last several years.

1992: Robert McCammon, The Wolf Hour
1993: Garfield Reeves-Stevens, Dark Matter
1994: Jack Finney, Time and Again
1995: Robert Reed, Down the Bright Way
1996: James Morrow, Towing Jehovah
1997: Neal Stephenson, Snow Crash
1998: Clive Barker, Imajica
1999: Valerio Evangelisti, "Nicolas Eymerich" series (Italian)
2000: Orson Scott Card, "Alvin Maker" series

Short Stories:
1995: Nancy Kress, "Beggars in Spain"
1996: Dan Simmons, "Le Grand Amant" (original title: "The Great Lover")
1997: Robert Sawyer, "You See But You Do Not Observe"
1998: Poppy Z. Brite, "Calcutta, Lord of Nerves"
1999: John Crowley, "Great Work of Time"
2000: Jonathan Carroll, the first story in "The Panic Hand"

Some of the works may have received an award a few years after they were originally published in the US (sometimes even a long time after the original publication, such as Finney's Time and Again which was first published in the 1970s.)

E-mail this page
Copyright © 2022 Hatrack River Enterprises Inc. All rights reserved.
Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.