FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » Pretty good day

Author Topic: Pretty good day
Book
Member # 5500

- posted      Profile for Book           Edit/Delete Post 
Okay, I'm here to brag. I'm a shameless egotist, I admit.

Anyways, I get a test back in my Chaucer class (which is incredibly hard; details as to why coming up) and I found out I got an A; this is phenomenal, as the class average is usually a low C, and, hey, I'm just an average kind've guy. I studied a whole lot and I guess I finally pulled through. But at the bottom of the exam it read: "Robert, good exam. Come by my office sometime in the week."

Uh-oh. Ominous chords in the background. I didn't cheat. I mean, it wasn't like I didn't consider it, but I didn't cheat.

I asked her about it and she saw to follow her back to her office. She sat me down and said that she thought I was a very articulate and intelligent young man, and why the hell wasn't I in the English honors program?

*crickets chirping*

I explained to her that my first semester was woefully misspent as a musician, and I was still recovering from the blows, particularly my GPA. I had always known about it (she was afraid that I never had known about it at all), but I had never known of ways around the GPA thing. I asked if there were any bypasses.

She said, "You're talking to her."

Turns out she's the head of English Honors at UT. Maybe even the head of the English department, I don't know. She wants me to sign up for English honors, and, man, I have no problem doing that.