FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Discussions About Orson Scott Card » A little downcast

Author Topic: A little downcast
Proteus
Member # 794

- posted      Profile for Proteus   Email Proteus         Edit/Delete Post 
I recently came to an odd conclusion lately. I've been writing here, across the river and on VBS for about three years now and yet i don't really know anyone in the sense that many of you know each other. I stumbled on the pictures site and realised that while many of you US Hatrackers and VBSers have met each other and have been to many conventions etc; i in the UK am quite detatched from it all. I doubt any of you even know what i look like, or if many of those i first met are still here and those new know who i am. That's it i guess; i don't think it's wrong to feel a little jealous every once in a while.
Posts: 200 | Registered: Mar 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Noemon
Member # 1115

- posted      Profile for Noemon   Email Noemon         Edit/Delete Post 
Amira is in England, and there are a handful of Hatrackers on the continent as well.
Posts: 16059 | Registered: Aug 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Narnia
Member # 1071

- posted      Profile for Narnia           Edit/Delete Post 
Proteus, it's not wrong at all. It took me three years to get comfortable enough to post enough for people to actually get to know me a little. During that time, I also noticed how everyone seemed to know each other intimately etc...if you're ever on AIM, you'll get to know some people too.

If it makes you feel any better, I think it would be MUCH cooler to have a hatrack get together in England than anywhere in the US. [Smile] We'll meet one of these days...

Posts: 6415 | Registered: Jul 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
pooka
Member # 5003