FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Discussions About Orson Scott Card » An introduction, and Deep Questions about EG

Author Topic: An introduction, and Deep Questions about EG
Penta
Member # 8950

- posted      Profile for Penta   Email Penta         Edit/Delete Post 
Some stuff I'm pondering. A bunch of stuff, actually.

First, though, an introduction.

I'm a 22-year old college student; my major is political science, but I tend to dabble in lots of stuff.

I only picked up EG and Speaker for the Dead in August. I loved EG (OSC nailed the gifted and the disabled kid; I found myself shuddering at how much of the book brought back my own memories of school.), but SftD I simply couldn't stand, and I put it on my shelf after the first few pages.

ES and the rest of that series are on my Xmas list, for the record.

With that said:

1. I've been nagged by something in regards to the Population Control laws. Namely, there seem to be some situations that would seem to make matters insane.

A. How do adopted kids count?

B. What happens with multiple births (say, you have one kid already, and next pregnancy you wind up with twins; Or you have triplets)?

2. Settling a question from Ansible MOO:

Do Battle School kids have watches?

3. Next question raised by Ansible:

What's the deal with mail and, well, contact with the outside world?

I know Ender had his mail blocked, but how about the other kids?

4. And, finally, questions that nag at me:

A. Just what are the admissions requirements for Battle School? Would, say, a kid born preemie be disqualified (assuming he came out without disabilities)?

B. The curriculum. OK, Battle School has a curriculum tilted towards the sciences, math, and military subjects. But are they getting the usual common core subjects, too? (IE, what about literature, or art, or languages, or...? Well, you name it.)