FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » I feel displaced

Author Topic: I feel displaced
Evie3217
Member # 5426

- posted      Profile for Evie3217   Email Evie3217         Edit/Delete Post 
I started college back in August with high hopes. I had left a great set of friends, but I was prepared for the challenges that lay ahead. It was exciting and scary and I was ready for the chhange.

Life, on the other hand, had different expectations. You see, I had just completely surgery to remove my thyroid 2 weeks before I started college. I had found out I had thyroid cancer the day after I graduated from highschool and spent the summer sleeping and trying to prepare myself for this surgery. When it finally occurred I was somewhat relieved but I was also very weak. Surgery will do that to you. I spent two weeks recooperating and trying to get myself ready for college.

When I got to college things were a lot harder than I expected. I was tired all the time and constantly took naps. I couldn't participate in my orientation because it required a lot of walking and I wasn't up for it. So, in short, I made no friend the first few weeks and was miserable.

The next few weeks were a little better as I made one or two friends that I could spend my time with, but college never really got much better for me. I wasn't really interested in my classes and it seemed like everyone had already broken into their groups and needed no more friends. To make things worse, I'm not a partier. I've never felt the need to go to a party to get wasted and pass out. It just didn't seem like fun to me. So naturally, I didn't make many more friends, and college wasn't the place I had been excited for originally.