FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Active Forums » Books, Films, Food and Culture » To Scott R (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3   
Author Topic: To Scott R
Paul Goldner
Member # 1910

- posted      Profile for Paul Goldner   Email Paul Goldner         Edit/Delete Post 
"My conviction that the Church is true isn't pertinent to this conversation. How I arrived at it is: I insist that I used the logical faculties available to any person who has a normal, functioning mind, and who is capable of independent thought."

We're in a different conversation now. I'm interested in the specifics of why you think that the Mormon church is true, using reason.

Posts: 4112 | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Scott R
Member # 567

- posted      Profile for Scott R   Email Scott R         Edit/Delete Post 
I had experiences; I studied the doctrine. The results I received after experimenting and study with the faith and the doctrine were the results predicted by prophets like Alma and Moroni. (An enlightened mind; an enlarged soul. A greater sense of kinship with God, and a changed heart. A desire to serve the people around me)

I'm not interested in giving specifics, Paul.

I am aware that not everyone has the same experiences as me. I think the experiment is repeatable, given a certain set of factors; but I'm not interested in judging any individual's success or failure with the experiment.

Posts: 14554 | Registered: Dec 1999  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
TomDavidson
Member # 124

- posted      Profile for TomDavidson   Email TomDavidson         Edit/Delete Post 
Do you understand why, given your statements above, people persist in refusing to acknowledge the rationality of this "approach?"