FacebookTwitter
Hatrack River Forum   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Forum » Archives » Landmark Threads » BA - or Before Australia (a Landmark)

Author Topic: BA - or Before Australia (a Landmark)
Evie3217
Member # 5426

- posted      Profile for Evie3217   Email Evie3217         Edit/Delete Post 
For those of you who don’t know, my name is actually Abby, not Evie. Evie is a nickname that my best friend gave me because of my last name – Evans. But I’ll still answer to it, don’t worry.

There is no real reason for this landmark, other than I feel like I’m a turning point in my life. Things have finally started to turn around and I’m in a place where I’m happy with myself, something that hasn’t happened for over a decade.

The reason for this change is Australia. I’m studying abroad in Melbourne right now and absolutely loving it. The people here are fantastic and I’ve made some friends that I hope to keep for the rest of my life. But first, let me tell you about the person I was Before Australia, from here on out known as BA:

I was diagnosed with depression at age 17, in my junior year of high school. I was switched from medication to medication – nothing would work. Also, at this time, my parents split up for the first time (note, for the first time). I learned that my dad had cheated on my mom and he moved out. By that time my depression had gotten incredibly bad. I was hospitalized at the end of March 2004, for 2 days. It was the scariest 2 days of my life. I vowed that I would never go back there, and so far I haven’t.