Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Fragments and Feedback for Short Works » First try

Author Topic: First try
rslevrant
Member # 3204

- posted      Profile for rslevrant   Email rslevrant         Edit/Delete Post 
For hard core sci-fi and fantasy fans, this will likely come as a disappointment. It would probably be called "fantasy light" as the fantasy world is not remarkably different from our own.

This is my first attempt as a novel, and I promised myself if I ever broke the hundred page mark on anything (it seemed an impossible goal) that I would seek some feedback.

Since this is now at 137 pages in 12-point courier, I'd better make good, so here are lines 1-12 (better stopping point than 13). Please share your thoughts, and keep in mind I am quite thick skinned.
------------------
Madeleine Zuckerman sits on her usual bench on the campus of Carteret University staring at Witherspoon Hall, with a sketchpad and pencil in hand. She especially likes to draw the building right after the rain. Built as a dormitory in the 1860s, ‘Spoon, as most students call it, is reminiscent of the old residential academies of European colleges. Ten years ago, the university refurbished the building to house the College of Business, after it outlived its usefulness as a residence hall. This ever changing, evolving purpose captivates Madeleine - who was still searching for her own purpose - as much as for ‘Spoon’s physical beauty.

Posts: 7 | Registered: Feb 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Susannaj4
Member # 3189

- posted      Profile for Susannaj4   Email Susannaj4         Edit/Delete Post 
Your last sentence is past tense. if it is all inpresent tense then change was to is. It doesn't grab me. It's more about the building than Madeline.
Posts: 341 | Registered: Jan 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
pjp