Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Fragments and Feedback for Short Works » Identity

Author Topic: Identity
Zero
Member # 3619

- posted      Profile for Zero           Edit/Delete Post 
I am trying to decide whether to write this piece in 1st or 3rd limited single pov... I have never written in 1st before but in some ways it seems more appropriate for this piece. Because I have no experience with first person I'd really appreciate your opinions/advice, here is my stab at first person writing. Enjoy.

quote:
I awoke with a start. My first thought was, Ouch! As scorching bright sunlight burned my retinas. I closed my eyes fast and tried to sit up. I could barely move. Immediately pain shot along my neck and the back of my head burned. I tried to cry out but couldn't feel my tongue. I must have said something because when I opened my eyes again, squinting this time, I saw the face of a beautiful woman looking down on me. She smiled and mouthed something to her side, I couldn't hear anything, and then I noticed the large man dragging me along by my foot. He was as unfamiliar as the captivating woman, in his free hand was a smoking submachine gun.

I couldn't feel most of my body. I thought hard--tried to get my bearings--but I didn't have the faintest idea what was going on.

[This message has been edited by First Assistant (edited August 08, 2006).]

Posts: 2195 | Registered: Aug 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Omakase
Member # 2915

- posted      Profile for Omakase   Email Omakase         Edit/Delete Post 
Unless you really absolutely positively need to start the story here you'd be much better starting it off somewhere else.

Opening a story with a person waking up is probably the most common mistake out there in terms of plotting. To say it is a cliche would be an understatement.