Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Fragments and Feedback for Books » Promise of the Midnight Sun

Author Topic: Promise of the Midnight Sun
jinju
Member # 8355

- posted      Profile for jinju   Email jinju         Edit/Delete Post 
"Sir, they found the Promised Daughter."

"What?"

"My aids just alerted me. Two doctor-priests were administering the standard blood purity test, the one that all seven year old royalty have to undergo. They flagged the record of one of the girls a few minutes ago."

"I..."

"Sir?"

"Gods above, out of all seven centuries, she had to be alive now? In these times? It couldn't have been, oh, maybe after my body was safely burned and the ashes dumped in the Gang river?"

"I'm sorry, sir."

--

This is a science fiction story that I am currently working on. It's my first attempt at an original novel, so I would appreciate comments if people have them! I'm starting it off with just dialogue between two people who are talking about a girl, the Promised Daughter, whose story the novel will follow. I plan for these pieces of dialogue to begin each chapter for the first part of this novel.

Thanks!

Posts: 6 | Registered: Dec 2008  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
satate
Member # 8082

- posted      Profile for satate   Email satate         Edit/Delete Post 
Hi, welcome to Hatrack. There's definetly a hook, the only comment I have is this sentence, "Two doctor-priests were administering the standard blood puity test, the one that all seven year old royalty have to undergo." You only need the first part. The second part "the one that all seven year old royalty have to undergo" feels unnecesary. Are there so many blood tests that he has to clarify, and it smacks of a "as you well know" comment.