Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Fragments and Feedback for Short Works » Ophidia

Author Topic: Ophidia
Janae
Member # 5176

- posted      Profile for Janae   Email Janae         Edit/Delete Post 
Hi! This is my first time here and I've written a short story called Ophidia. I would like to know anything you might think would be of value. If you would like to read all, let me know and I'll email it. About 1800 words. Thanks! Janae

I first heard of my uncle’s marriage from rumors that had circulated from neighbors of friends of friends. I didn’t put much stock in it. It would have been totally out of character from the man I knew. Conor was like a father to me, and had sent money to my parents to fund a private education. I received a public education, with my parents using the money sent to fund expensive vacations, while I was left at home with a babysitter.
Conor had sent letters to me every week telling me about his life, and wishing me well. He always told me how great a man I was going to grow up to be. I only wished to be like him, and not my parents.

Posts: 3 | Registered: Mar 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
KayTi
Member # 5137

- posted      Profile for KayTi           Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Janae - welcome.

My first reaction is that some of the sentence structures were confusing to me. For instance, "I received a public education..."

Have you thought of changing things around a bit to something like "I received a public education, while my parents used the money to fund expensive vacations. I was left home with a babysitter."

I personally suffer from the run-on-sentence disease, so it could be that I'm being overly sensitive.