Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Open Discussions About Writing » X words = ? Pages

Author Topic: X words = ? Pages
RoJoHen
Member # 1030

- posted      Profile for RoJoHen   Email RoJoHen         Edit/Delete Post 
Okay, all you people keep saying that you're writing stories that are so many words long. I always go by number of pages. So, tell me, in a Word document, Times New Roman size 12, how many words would 5 pages be, approximately?

Just so I know what you people are talking about...

Posts: 28 | Registered: Apr 2001  | Report this post to a Moderator
JK
Member # 654

- posted      Profile for JK   Email JK         Edit/Delete Post 
I find that, in that font, six pages is roughly 300 words. As for the maths, well, I'm not very good at it. 50 words a page? 250 words for five pages? Is that right?
A confused and mathematically challenged,
JK

Posts: 503 | Registered: Sep 2000  | Report this post to a Moderator
JK
Member # 654

- posted      Profile for JK   Email JK         Edit/Delete Post 
You know what, that's absolute rubbish, because I left out a zero. It's actually about 3000 words, so it would be 500 words a page, 2500 for five.
Or is that rubbish too? I think my brain's melting, been in front of a computer too long.
JK

Posts: 503 | Registered: Sep 2000  | Report this post to a Moderator
Kathleen Dalton Woodbury
Administrator
Member # 59

- posted      Profile for Kathleen Dalton Woodbury   Email Kathleen Dalton Woodbury         Edit/Delete Post 
The question is whether or not you are talking about pages of manuscript format or not.

A manuscript format page of Times Roman 12 has 25 to 26 lines of type that is about 55 to 60 characters long, right?

That gives you a page that has roughly 250 words on it.

So ten pages would be 2500 words and a short story (up to 7500 words) would have up to 30 pages.

Does that help?