Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Open Discussions About Writing » What is it about, though?

Author Topic: What is it about, though?
drew
Member # 11149

- posted      Profile for drew   Email drew         Edit/Delete Post 
I've been pondering this story for a couple of decades. I knew a lot of the characters, their situations, their direction and motivations. I knew the settings and the general plot. I knew the villain and what he wanted.

One thing I could never quite figure out, though, was why it needed to be told at all. Cool story bro, but what's it all about?

Then tonight, like a boot to the head, it hit me.

It's about me. It's about finding a home. 0_0

I feel so blind.

Has this ever happened to you? Did you find yourself working on something, and not knowing why, but knowing it felt right, then sudden realization made it so obvious you wonder how you missed it all this time?

Are there questions or tricks to reduce this lack of insight?

For me, I think just going through and saying what is desired, lost gained, risked and valued helped to shine a light on the solution. I think if I had asked, "What is this saying about me?", I might have come to this realization much sooner.

Thoughts and ideas? I don't like feeling blind.

Posts: 76 | Registered: Apr 2019  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
extrinsic
Member # 8019

- posted      Profile for extrinsic   Email extrinsic         Edit/Delete Post 
Epiphany! Huzzah! Epiphanies often strike out of the blue, sometimes they're due to Edison's perspiration: ninety-nine percent perspiration, one percent inspiration. Though forced epiphanies are like self-fulfilled prophesies, miss full realization.