Hatrack River
Home   |   About Orson Scott Card   |   News & Reviews   |   OSC Library   |   Forums   |   Contact   |   Links
Research Area   |   Writing Lessons   |   Writers Workshops   |   OSC at SVU   |   Calendar   |   Store
E-mail this page
Hatrack River Writers Workshop Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Next, Please Introduce Yourself » Seeking Second Career :-)

Author Topic: Seeking Second Career :-)
Mark
Member # 10257

- posted      Profile for Mark           Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Greetings All:

Like yourselves, I'm an aspiring writer and am very happy to have found an ongoing, online writers workshop. I'm a fan of classic science fiction and yearn for the return of writers like Issac Asimov and Arthur Clarke. I'm tired of the future fantasy and super hero stories that have no grounding in actual science -- too much deus ex machina. Of course, what I like isn't popular, so I don't expect I'll be quitting my day job!

At present, I'm working on a science fiction novel. I'm about 50,000 words into it with a goal of hitting 100,000 before trying my hand in the market. It is an expansion of a 16,000 word novella I submitted to the Writers of the Future Contest. No luck there other than an honorable mention.

I really enjoyed OSC's "Ender's Game." Like many, it felt very familiar. I had the opportunity to meet OSC when I was selected as a session presenter at Endercon in 2002. I would like to add that I was very impressed with him. He was one of the most contemplative, open-minded people I've met, and I feel very badly for how he was attacked for his traditional values during the opening of the Ender's Game movie. If his detractors had actually spoken with him, I'm certain they would have found common ground. If you read these posts Scott, know that you have one more supporter out there.