Hatrack River
Home   |   About Orson Scott Card   |   News & Reviews   |   OSC Library   |   Forums   |   Contact   |   Links
Research Area   |   Writing Lessons   |   Writers Workshops   |   OSC at SVU   |   Calendar   |   Store
E-mail this page
Hatrack River Writers Workshop Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Next, Please Introduce Yourself » Hello everyone

Author Topic: Hello everyone
ThemeWeaver
Member # 10271

- posted      Profile for ThemeWeaver           Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello everyone,

I have been an avid reader of OSC since 2007. I read Enders Game and was hooked. I bought and read every book in all of the series (I just read Earth Afire). I also like the Lost Gate / Gate Thief series. Looking forward to the 3rd installment.

I have been wrestling with a novel for about 10 years now. Life seems to get in the way of art. I have 5 chapters written and I am trying to take a running start at it again. I got side tracked into categorizing over 100,000 senses of meaning as a tool for language creation. My novel requires 3 fully developed languages to satisfy my vision. It has taken about 2 years so far. I may have to abandon that aspect as I fear that it may require several more years of work. I think it's time to write the story instead.

I have learned a lot already from reading the forum, and I desire feedback and and assistance (and maybe a little encouragement?), but I am also hesitant to share what I've written for fear that if it really is good (maybe), someone will like my cherished ideas and use them before I am able to finish.

My story falls somewhere between Fantasy and plausibility. I am writing supernatural fiction based on what I believe could be possible.

I look forward to participating in the forum.

Thank you for the opportunity to grow with you.