Hatrack River Writers Workshop Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Next, Please Introduce Yourself » Hello

Author Topic: Hello
S Archuleta
Member # 10712

- posted      Profile for S Archuleta   Email S Archuleta         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
My name is Sami. I am a high school English teacher. I live in California with my husband of 9 years and two dogs (Ringo and Rosie). I have tried repeatedly to find communities of writers, but I just don't enjoy the socializing aspect of the in-person writing groups. I don't like being a part of small talk and action. Rather, I like to remain on the periphery to observe and take notes. However, I have always wanted to feel like I am a part of an artist/writers' circle/community, so I thought that finding an online community might help this desire, while also learning how to become a better writer. I have been writing since I was physically able, and I have always wanted to be published, but putting myself out there feels so overwhelming and intimidating, so I have never tried to get my writing out there and published. Until now. I'm nervous and excited to start this journey, and very grateful to have a community of writers with which to share it.
Posts: 1 | Registered: Jun 2017  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Disgruntled Peony
Member # 10416

- posted      Profile for Disgruntled Peony   Email Disgruntled Peony         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello and welcome. [Smile] What kind of writing are you hoping to get published? Short stories, novels, etcetera?
Posts: 742 | Registered: May 2015  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
extrinsic
Member # 8019

- posted      Profile for extrinsic   Email extrinsic         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote