Hatrack River Writers Workshop   
my profile login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hatrack River Writers Workshop » Forums » Character Interviews » Jon

Author Topic: Jon
annepin
Member # 5952

- posted      Profile for annepin   Email annepin         Edit/Delete Post 
Hey, Jon here. What is this, like AA? Am I suppose to divulge everything and break down in tears?

Sorry, my writer says I should behave. She says I'm her Nanowrimo project, whatever that means. I told her she has to get in line. Everyone seems to be making me their special project these days. The gifted-student teacher, the remedial teacher... yeah, isn't it great? They can't make up their mind--Am I a genius or a moron? So, genius school, remedial school, and now back to genius school. The College Preparatory Academy. I start as a senior next fall. I should have graduated, but after getting expelled twice, what do you expect? They accelerated me a year when I was a freshman--so now we're even. Whatever.

Hey, you want a smoke? Anyway, they just don't get it. I don't give a **** about all that. There's more important things going on that they have no idea about. You see, I did something. Something really bad. They don't know I did it, but I'll never forget. Some people suspect, I think. That's why they had to pull me out of that remedial school.

And then I met Mr. Falke. Well, he's my mom's friend. I guess I'd met him once when I was eight or nine, but I don't remember. He's one of the English professors at CPA. He pulled some strings for me to get in. He knows what I am, what I can do. I'm supposed to help someone, he says, but I don't know who or why. I'll know when the time's right. Sounds like a bad B-movie to me, but whatever. Time will tell. In the meantime, I've got to pass my classes. I guess I should think about my future--college, and all that. I think Mom's finally given up on Harvard and Princeton. I hate to disappoint her, but I did the best I could.